Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Disclosures

Backgrounder

Canada’s three federal research agencies (the Canadian Institutes of Health Research, the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada and the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council of Canada) are committed to supporting and promoting the responsible conduct of research. To this end, they have developed the Tri-Agency Framework: Responsible Conduct of Research (“RCR Framework”), which sets out the responsibilities and corresponding policies for researchers, institutions, and the Agencies. Together they help support and promote a positive research environment.

The Agencies have tasked the Panel on Responsible Conduct of Research (“the Panel”) with considering allegations of breaches of the Framework by reviewing institutional inquiry and investigation reports. The Panel is an independent volunteer body of researchers and institutional administrators affiliated with various academic institutions or organizations across Canada. The Panel recommends recourse, if appropriate, to the President of the Agency whose funds are involved. The President is the final decision making authority. To reduce the risk of bias in decision-making, both the Panel and the Presidents make their determinations based on anonymized documents.

In accordance with the Agencies’ Consent to Disclosure of Personal Information, researchers and applicants are required, at the time of application for Agency funds, to consent to the disclosure of personal information in the event they are found to have engaged in a serious breach of Agency policy. For more information on the Consent to Disclosure of Personal Information, please visit the Agencies’ Frequently Asked Questions.

The Agencies may also publicly disclose information related to a serious breach without consent, if “in the opinion of the head of the institution, the public interest in disclosure clearly outweighs any invasion of privacy that could result from the disclosure” (Privacy Act, 8(2)(m)(i)).  

Canada is one of only a few jurisdictions in the world that discloses personal information related to a breach of responsible conduct of research. The Agencies have implemented this process to strengthen the responsible conduct of research in Canada and to increase transparency.

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Divulgations

Document d’information

Les trois organismes de recherche fédéraux du Canada (Conseil de recherches en sciences humaines du Canada, Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada et Instituts de recherche en santé du Canada) s’emploient à soutenir et à promouvoir la conduite responsable de la recherche. Dans cette optique, ils ont élaboré le Cadre de référence des trois organismes sur la conduite responsable de la recherche (« Cadre de référence »), qui précise les politiques en la matière et les responsabilités des chercheurs, des établissements et des Organismes. Le but général consiste à soutenir et à promouvoir un environnement favorable à la recherche.

Les Organismes ont chargé le Groupe sur la conduite responsable de la recherche (GCRR) d’examiner les allégations de violation du Cadre de référence à partir des rapports d’enquête et d’investigation des établissements. Le GCRR est un organisme indépendant réunissant, à titre bénévole, des chercheurs et des administrateurs de divers établissements ou organisations d’enseignement ou de recherche de partout au Canada. Le GCRR recommande les recours indiqués, s’il y a lieu, au président de l’Organisme dont les fonds sont en cause. Le président rend la décision finale. Pour réduire le risque de parti pris dans les décisions, le GCRR et les présidents statuent tous deux à partir de documents anonymisés.

En vertu des dispositions des Organismes concernant le consentement à la divulgation de renseignements personnels, les chercheurs et les candidats qui présentent une demande de financement à un des Organismes doivent consentir à la divulgation publique de leurs renseignements personnels au cas où ils auraient commis une violation grave des politiques des organismes. Pour de plus amples renseignements sur le Consentement à la divulgation de renseignements personnels, voir la Foire aux questions des organismes.

Un Organisme peut aussi divulguer publiquement des renseignements sur un cas grave de violation sans consentement si, de l’avis du responsable de l’institution, « des raisons d’intérêt public justifieraient nettement une éventuelle violation de la vie privée (Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels, 8(2)m)(i)) ».

Le Canada est un des rares pays au monde qui divulgue des renseignements personnels concernant un manquement à la conduite responsable de la recherche. Les Organismes ont prévu ce processus pour renforcer la conduite responsable de la recherche au Canada et pour accroître la transparence.