Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Disclosures

July 19, 2016 - Dr. Jamal

Name: Dr. Abida Sophina (Sophie) Jamal

Institution(s): Women’s College Hospital; University of Toronto

Nature of the breach: Intentional manipulation of study data

Background: The Women’s College Hospital (WCH) appointed an Investigating Committee to conduct an investigation into allegations it received in February 2015 regarding studies conducted by Dr. Jamal. These studies were supported, in part by, the Canadian Institutes of Health Research (CIHR).

The Investigating Committee concluded that Dr. Jamal:

  • manipulated study data with the intention of supporting the underlying hypothesis of research studies;
  • intentionally manipulated electronic datasets and presented them as raw data to investigators;
  • falsely accused a research assistant of having carried out the manipulations;
  • failed to correct the errors once the problems were discovered;
  • shared manipulated rather than primary data with colleagues;
  • deleted records that were to form part of WCH’s forensic investigation;
  • failed to retain research data to a standard appropriate to the discipline; and
  • impeded an institutional investigation.
The research in question involved human participants. WCH found no evidence that the health of participants was negatively affected. WCH notified participants by registered letter that they may have received inaccurate information about the research.

WCH submitted the Investigating Committee's report to the Secretariat on Responsible Conduct of Research in October 2015. The Panel on Responsible Conduct of Research considered the report and made recommendations to the President of CIHR in February 2016.

The Journal of the American Medical Association (JAMA) has since retracted the following article: “Effect of Nitroglycerin Ointment on Bone Density and Strength in Postmenopausal Women: A Randomized Trial,” published in its February 23, 2011 issue.

Dr. Jamal resigned from her positions at WCH and the University of Toronto while the investigation was in process.

Recourse: On May 4, 2016, the President of CIHR decided to declare Dr. Jamal permanently ineligible to hold, participate in, or apply for CIHR funding or funding from the other two federal research agencies (NSERC or SSHRC) or any Tri-Agency programs; and permanently ineligible to participate in Agency review processes. She is also required to reimburse CIHR for the funds spent on the study.

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Divulgations

19 juillet 2016 - Dre Jamal

Nom : Dre Abida Sophina (Sophie) Jamal

Établissement(s) : Hôpital Women’s College; Université de Toronto

Nature de la violation : Manipulation intentionnelle de données de recherche

Contexte : L’hôpital Women’s College (WCH) a fait constitué un comité d’investigation chargé de faire enquête sur des allégations qu’il a reçues en février 2015 au sujet d’études menées par la Dre Sophie Jamal. Ces études étaient financées en partie par les Instituts de recherche en santé du Canada (IRSC). Le comité d’investigation est arrivé à la conclusion que la Dre Jamal :

  • a manipulé les données en vue d’étayer l’hypothèse sous-tendant les recherches;
  • a intentionnellement manipulé des ensembles de données électroniques et les a présentés aux enquêteurs comme des données brutes;
  • a faussement accusé un adjoint à la recherche d’avoir effectué les manipulations;
  • n’a pas rectifié les erreurs une fois que les problèmes ont été découverts;
  • a communiqué à des collègues des données manipulées plutôt que des données primaires;
  • a supprimé des dossiers qui faisaient partie de l’enquête du WCH;
  • n’a pas conservé les données de recherche conformément aux normes propres à la discipline;
  • a entravé une enquête de l’établissement.

La recherche en cause était une recherche avec des êtres humains. Le WCH n’a trouvé aucune indication de tort causé à la santé des participants. Le WCH a avisé les participants, par courrier recommandé, qu’ils avaient peut-être reçu des renseignements inexacts au sujet de la recherche.

Le WCH a soumis le rapport du comité d’investigation au Secrétariat sur la conduite responsable de la recherche en octobre 2015. Le Groupe sur la conduite responsable de la recherche a examiné le rapport et présenté des recommandations au président des IRSC en février 2016.

Le Journal of the American Medical Association (JAMA) a depuis lors rétracté l’article « Effect of Nitroglycerin Ointment on Bone Density and Strength in Postmenopausal Women: A Randomized Trial » publié dans son numéro du 23 février 2011.

La Dre Jamal a démissionné de ses fonctions au WCH et à l’Université de Toronto pendant que l’investigation était en cours.

Recours : Le 4 mai 2016, le président des IRSC a décidé de déclarer la Dre Sophie Jamal inadmissible, de façon permanente : à détenir ou à demander des fonds des IRSC ou des deux autres organismes de recherche fédéraux (le CRSNG et le CRSH); à participer à des programmes des trois Organismes; et à participer à des examens des Organismes. Elle est aussi tenue de rembourser aux IRSC les fonds consacrés à l’étude.