Disclosures

Backgrounder

Canada’s three federal research agencies (the Canadian Institutes of Health Research, the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada and the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council of Canada) are committed to supporting and promoting the responsible conduct of research. To this end, they have developed the Tri-Agency Framework: Responsible Conduct of Research (“RCR Framework”), which sets out the responsibilities and corresponding policies for researchers, institutions, and the Agencies. Together they help support and promote a positive research environment.

The Agencies have tasked the Panel on Responsible Conduct of Research (“the Panel”) with considering allegations of breaches of the Framework by reviewing institutional inquiry and investigation reports. The Panel is an independent volunteer body of researchers and institutional administrators affiliated with various academic institutions or organizations across Canada. The Panel recommends recourse, if appropriate, to the President of the Agency whose funds are involved. The President is the final decision making authority. To reduce the risk of bias in decision-making, both the Panel and the Presidents make their determinations based on anonymized documents.

In accordance with the Agencies’ Consent to Disclosure of Personal Information, researchers and applicants are required, at the time of application for Agency funds, to consent to the disclosure of personal information in the event they are found to have engaged in a serious breach of Agency policy. For more information on the Consent to Disclosure of Personal Information, please visit the Agencies’ Frequently Asked Questions.

The Agencies may also publicly disclose information related to a serious breach without consent, if “in the opinion of the head of the institution, the public interest in disclosure clearly outweighs any invasion of privacy that could result from the disclosure” (Privacy Act, 8(2)(m)(i)).  

Canada is one of only a few jurisdictions in the world that discloses personal information related to a breach of responsible conduct of research. The Agencies have implemented this process to strengthen the responsible conduct of research in Canada and to increase transparency.

Disclosure Statements

July 19, 2016 - Dr. Jamal

Name: Dr. Abida Sophina (Sophie) Jamal

Institution(s): Women’s College Hospital; University of Toronto

Nature of the breach: Intentional manipulation of study data

Background: The Women’s College Hospital (WCH) appointed an Investigating Committee to conduct an investigation into allegations it received in February 2015 regarding studies conducted by Dr. Jamal. These studies were supported, in part by, the Canadian Institutes of Health Research (CIHR).

The Investigating Committee concluded that Dr. Jamal:

  • manipulated study data with the intention of supporting the underlying hypothesis of research studies;
  • intentionally manipulated electronic datasets and presented them as raw data to investigators;
  • falsely accused a research assistant of having carried out the manipulations;
  • failed to correct the errors once the problems were discovered;
  • shared manipulated rather than primary data with colleagues;
  • deleted records that were to form part of WCH’s forensic investigation;
  • failed to retain research data to a standard appropriate to the discipline; and
  • impeded an institutional investigation.

The research in question involved human participants. WCH found no evidence that the health of participants was negatively affected. WCH notified participants by registered letter that they may have received inaccurate information about the research.

WCH submitted the Investigating Committee's report to the Secretariat on Responsible Conduct of Research in October 2015. The Panel on Responsible Conduct of Research considered the report and made recommendations to the President of CIHR in February 2016.

The Journal of the American Medical Association (JAMA) has since retracted the following article: “Effect of Nitroglycerin Ointment on Bone Density and Strength in Postmenopausal Women: A Randomized Trial,” published in its February 23, 2011 issue.

Dr. Jamal resigned from her positions at WCH and the University of Toronto while the investigation was in process.

Recourse: On May 4, 2016, the President of CIHR decided to declare Dr. Jamal permanently ineligible to hold, participate in, or apply for CIHR funding or funding from the other two federal research agencies (NSERC or SSHRC) or any Tri-Agency programs; and permanently ineligible to participate in Agency review processes. She is also required to reimburse CIHR for the funds spent on the study.

Date modified:

Divulgations

Document d’information

Les trois organismes de recherche fédéraux du Canada (Conseil de recherches en sciences humaines du Canada, Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada et Instituts de recherche en santé du Canada) s’emploient à soutenir et à promouvoir la conduite responsable de la recherche. Dans cette optique, ils ont élaboré le Cadre de référence des trois organismes sur la conduite responsable de la recherche (« Cadre de référence »), qui précise les politiques en la matière et les responsabilités des chercheurs, des établissements et des Organismes. Le but général consiste à soutenir et à promouvoir un environnement favorable à la recherche.

Les Organismes ont chargé le Groupe sur la conduite responsable de la recherche (GCRR) d’examiner les allégations de violation du Cadre de référence à partir des rapports d’enquête et d’investigation des établissements. Le GCRR est un organisme indépendant réunissant, à titre bénévole, des chercheurs et des administrateurs de divers établissements ou organisations d’enseignement ou de recherche de partout au Canada. Le GCRR recommande les recours indiqués, s’il y a lieu, au président de l’Organisme dont les fonds sont en cause. Le président rend la décision finale. Pour réduire le risque de parti pris dans les décisions, le GCRR et les présidents statuent tous deux à partir de documents anonymisés.

En vertu des dispositions des Organismes concernant le consentement à la divulgation de renseignements personnels, les chercheurs et les candidats qui présentent une demande de financement à un des Organismes doivent consentir à la divulgation publique de leurs renseignements personnels au cas où ils auraient commis une violation grave des politiques des organismes. Pour de plus amples renseignements sur le Consentement à la divulgation de renseignements personnels, voir la Foire aux questions des organismes.

Un Organisme peut aussi divulguer publiquement des renseignements sur un cas grave de violation sans consentement si, de l’avis du responsable de l’institution, « des raisons d’intérêt public justifieraient nettement une éventuelle violation de la vie privée (Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels, 8(2)m)(i)) ».

Le Canada est un des rares pays au monde qui divulgue des renseignements personnels concernant un manquement à la conduite responsable de la recherche. Les Organismes ont prévu ce processus pour renforcer la conduite responsable de la recherche au Canada et pour accroître la transparence.

Documents déclaratoires

19 juillet 2016 - Dre Jamal

Nom : Dre Abida Sophina (Sophie) Jamal

Établissement(s) : Hôpital Women’s College; Université de Toronto

Nature de la violation : Manipulation intentionnelle de données de recherche

Contexte : L’hôpital Women’s College (WCH) a fait constitué un comité d’investigation chargé de faire enquête sur des allégations qu’il a reçues en février 2015 au sujet d’études menées par la Dre Sophie Jamal. Ces études étaient financées en partie par les Instituts de recherche en santé du Canada (IRSC). Le comité d’investigation est arrivé à la conclusion que la Dre Jamal :

  • a manipulé les données en vue d’étayer l’hypothèse sous-tendant les recherches;
  • a intentionnellement manipulé des ensembles de données électroniques et les a présentés aux enquêteurs comme des données brutes;
  • a faussement accusé un adjoint à la recherche d’avoir effectué les manipulations;
  • n’a pas rectifié les erreurs une fois que les problèmes ont été découverts;
  • a communiqué à des collègues des données manipulées plutôt que des données primaires;
  • a supprimé des dossiers qui faisaient partie de l’enquête du WCH;
  • n’a pas conservé les données de recherche conformément aux normes propres à la discipline;
  • a entravé une enquête de l’établissement.

La recherche en cause était une recherche avec des êtres humains. Le WCH n’a trouvé aucune indication de tort causé à la santé des participants. Le WCH a avisé les participants, par courrier recommandé, qu’ils avaient peut-être reçu des renseignements inexacts au sujet de la recherche.

Le WCH a soumis le rapport du comité d’investigation au Secrétariat sur la conduite responsable de la recherche en octobre 2015. Le Groupe sur la conduite responsable de la recherche a examiné le rapport et présenté des recommandations au président des IRSC en février 2016.

Le Journal of the American Medical Association (JAMA) a depuis lors rétracté l’article « Effect of Nitroglycerin Ointment on Bone Density and Strength in Postmenopausal Women: A Randomized Trial (en anglais seulement) » publié dans son numéro du 23 février 2011.

La Dre Jamal a démissionné de ses fonctions au WCH et à l’Université de Toronto pendant que l’investigation était en cours.

Recours : Le 4 mai 2016, le président des IRSC a décidé de déclarer la Dre Sophie Jamal inadmissible, de façon permanente : à détenir ou à demander des fonds des IRSC ou des deux autres organismes de recherche fédéraux (le CRSNG et le CRSH); à participer à des programmes des trois Organismes; et à participer à des examens des Organismes. Elle est aussi tenue de rembourser aux IRSC les fonds consacrés à l’étude.

Date de modification :