Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

PRCR

Members

The Advisory Panel on Responsible Conduct of Research (PRCR) is composed of members drawn from across the country to represent a wide spectrum of expertise and experience in ethics, responsible conduct of research, research administration, research in the health, natural and social sciences, humanities and engineering, law, as well as the lay community. 

The members of the Panel are:

  • Marc Joanisse (Chair)
    Professor
    University Western Ontario

  • James Ellis
    Senior Scientist, Developmental & Stem Cell Biology, Hospital for Sick Children
    Research Integrity Advisor, Hospital for Sick Children
    Full Professor, Molecular Genetics, University of Toronto

  • Faisal Khan
    Professor
    Department Head, Process Engineering
    Memorial University

  • Lyne Létourneau
    Professor
    Université Laval
    Québec, QC

  • Robert Lipson
    Dean of Science
    Professor of Chemistry
    University of Victoria

  • E. Ann McDougall
    Professor
    Department of History and Classics
    University of Alberta

  • Janice Ristock
    Vice-Provost (Academic Affairs)
    University of Manitoba

  • Ex-officio Member:
    Susan Zimmerman
    Executive Director
    Secretariat on Responsible Conduct of Research

 

Marc Joanisse (Chair)
Professor
University of Western Ontario
London, ON

Dr. Joanisse is a professor at the University of Western Ontario, where he also serves as the Associate Chair for Graduate Studies in the Psychology department. He has been at Western since 2000, studying the cognitive and brain bases of language and reading. His research spans a range of abilities, populations and techniques, but focuses in particular on the study of developmental dyslexia in children, using behavioural techniques, eye-tracking and neuroimaging.

Dr. Joanisse holds a PhD from the University of Southern California. He has previously served as an Associate Editor of the Journal of Speech Language and Hearing Research.

James Ellis
Senior Scientist, Developmental & Stem Cell Biology, Hospital for Sick Children, Toronto
Research Integrity Advisor, Hospital for Sick Children, Toronto
Full Professor, Molecular Genetics, University of Toronto

Dr. Ellis completed his BSc at McGill University and his PhD at the University of Toronto with Dr. Alan Bernstein developing retrovirus vectors for gene targeting.  His Post-Doctoral Fellowship studying the beta-globin Locus Control Region was mentored by Dr. Frank Grosveld in London UK. Dr. Ellis established his own research team at the Hospital for Sick Children in Toronto in 1994 with a focus on gene therapy for Sickle Cell Anemia. The Ellis lab goal is to generate safe and effective retrovirus and lentivirus vectors for manipulating stem cells for molecular medicine. Stem cells silence viral vectors by compacting DNA into inaccessible chromatin structures. We study these silencing mechanisms and design vectors with insulator elements that resist silencing. We developed MECP2 vectors for gene therapy of Rett syndrome, and vectors with reporter genes that mark specific cell types. For example, our EOS vectors express specifically in pluripotent stem cells and facilitate generation of patient induced Pluripotent Stem (iPS) cells. The Ellis team currently uses these iPS cells to model Rett syndrome and other Autism Spectrum Disorders, Cystic Fibrosis and Williams Beuren syndrome. In addition, we perform drug screens on patient iPS cell derived cells to exploit their potential to discover personalized medicines.  Dr. Ellis was appointed Research Integrity Advisor at the Hospital for Sick Children in October 2013 and organized a Research Integrity Symposium in Toronto in 2015. 

Faisal Khan
Professor
Department Head, Process Engineering
Memorial University

Dr. Faisal Khan is Professor and ValeResearch Chair of Safety and Risk Management. He is also Head of the Department of Process Engineering at Faculty of Engineering and Applied Science, Memorial University, Canada. His areas of research interest include offshore safety and risk engineering, inherent safety, risk management, and risk-based integrity assessment and management. He is actively involved with multinational oil and gas industries on the issue of safety and asset integrity.

In 2006, he spent a few months as risk and integrity expert with Lloyd’s Register, a risk management organization. He also served as Safety and Risk Advisor to the government of Newfoundland, Canada. He continues to serve as a subject matter expert to many organizations that include Lloyd’s Register EMEA, SBM Modco, Intecsea, Technip, and Qatargas. In 2008-2010, he visited Qatar University and Qatargas LNG Company as Process Safety and Risk Management Chair. In 2013-2014 he served as Visiting Professor of Offshore and Marine Engineering at Australian Maritime College (AMC), Australia, where he lead the development of an offshore safety and risk engineering group and an initiative of global engagement with many international institutions. His global engagement efforts led to AMC signing a Memorandum of Understanding with NTNU, Norway; ITS, Indonesia; UTM, Malaysia; and Tokyo University, Japan.

He is a recipient of the President Outstanding Research Award of 2012-2013 and CSChE National Award on Process Safety Management of 2014. He has authored over 300 research articles in peer reviewed journals and conferences on safety, risk and reliability engineering. He has authored five books on the subject. He is Editor to Journal of Process Safety and Environmental Protection, Journal of Loss Prevention, and Journal of Process Engineering. He regularly offers training programs/workshops on safety and risk engineering in different places including St John’s, Chennai, Dubai, Beijing, Aberdeen, Doha and Kuala Lumpur.

Lyne Létourneau
Professor
Université Laval
Québec, QC

Lyne Létourneau is Full Professor in the Department of Animal Science at Université Laval, where she teaches agriculture and food ethics, as well as responsible conduct of research. She holds a doctorate in law from the University of Aberdeen (2000), a Master’s degree in law (1993) and a Bachelor’s degree in law (1988) from the University of Montreal. Combining her legal background with an expertise in applied ethics, her research interests focus on the interface between regulation and ethics in agricultural biotechnology and animal protection. In addition to peer-reviewed publications on animal law and ethics, and the ethical, policy and regulatory issues raised by the genetic engineering of animals and plants, she is author of L'expérimentation animale: l'homme, l'éthique et la loi (1994), and editor of Bio-ingénierie et responsabilité sociale (2006). She was appointed as a member of the Canadian Biotechnology Advisory Committee (CBAC) from 2002 to 2007 and of the Working Committee on Nanotechnologies in Food of the Commission de l’éthique en science et technologie du Québec (CEST) from 2009 to 2011. She also was a member of the Executive Committee of the Institut d’éthique appliquée (IDEA) from 2004 to 2012. In 2014, she chaired the creation of a new graduate interdisciplinary program on agriculture, food and society, to be offered starting in 2016 by the Faculty of Agriculture and Food at Université Laval.

Robert Lipson
Dean of Science
Professor of chemistry
University of Victoria

Rob Lipson received his Ph.D. in Physics in 1985 from the University of Toronto, and did postdoctoral work in the Spectroscopy group at the National Research Council Canada. He was a faculty member in the Department of Chemistry at the University of Western Ontario until 2010 when he joined the faculty at the University of Victoria as Professor of Chemistry and Dean of Science. Dr. Lipson has published more than 110 refereed papers in the fields of laser spectroscopy, photonics materials and applications related to interference lithography, and analytical technique development for MALDI mass spectrometry.

Dr. Lipson served as Chair of the Chemistry Department at Western from 2000 to 2005. He was a former member and Chair of the NSERC Analytical/Physical Chemistry Grant Selection Committee (2004 to 2006), and a member of the NSERC E.W.R. Steacie Fellowship Selection Committee (2008 to 2010). He served as  Senior Editor of the Canadian Journal of Chemistry between 2004 to 2012, and is a Fellow of the Chemical Institute of Canada.

E. Ann McDougall
Professor
Department of History and Classics
University of Alberta

Ann McDougall joined the University of Alberta in 1986, after having received her PhD in African History (University of Birmingham, UK, 1980) and taught/held post-doctoral fellowships at Dalhousie, Duke, York and Toronto Universities. An active member of her University community, she served as: Association of Academic Staff  President, Chair of Members’ Advisory Services (each 3-year terms);  founder/Chair and Director of the Middle Eastern and African Studies Programme in the Faculty of Arts (1996-2009); General Faculties Council’s representative on Chair Selection Committees; member of Faculty, University Awards Committees –she is beginning her third term on the Faculty of Graduate Studies and Research’s Scholarship Awards Committee.

Nationally, she has: been President of the Canadian Association of African Studies (twice); overseen (as General Editor 2009-2010) the transformation of its 40-year old Journal to on-line production; and co-founded/officered the IDRC-supported Council of Canadian Associations of Area Studies (1998-1999 – 2006). Over the past two decades, she has served on three SSHRC Standard Grants Committees (History, Interdisciplinary Studies).

Her research interests are geographically located in North-West Africa and are conceptually shaped by questions of power and identity as played out in Saharan Islamic societies. Publications over the past decade have addressed Saharan slavery in historical and contemporary times, female slaves/slavery (especially concubines), and haratinehistory in Mauritania (where most claim freed-slave status) and in southern Morocco (where they are black cultivators). She recently completed a SSHRC-funded project (2008-2012), “The Sahara’s Invisible People: Haratine History and Social Identity,” from which an edited volume is in progress with Karthala Press (Paris).

Janice Ristock
Vice-Provost (Academic Affairs)
University of Manitoba

Dr. Janice Ristock obtained her BA (hons) at the University of Manitoba, MA in Applied Social Psychology at the University of Guelph, and PhD in Community Psychology at the University of Toronto. Before assuming the position of Vice-Provost (Academic Affairs), she served as Associate Vice-President (Research). Prior to this, she served for four years as Associate Dean (Research and Faculty Development) in the Faculty of Arts and for 12 years as the Coordinator of the Faculty’s Women’s and Gender Studies Program. Dr. Ristock is a Professor of Women’s and Gender Studies and an Adjunct Professor in Anthropology, Family Social Sciences and Disability Studies. She is an internationally recognized community-based researcher. Her scholarly work reflects an overarching focus on community well-being and social justice, with a particular focus on the intersecting areas of gender and sexuality, interpersonal violence and HIV/AIDS and stigma.

Her research has been supported by various sources, including SSHRC and CIHR, and has been widely disseminated in refereed publications, including 6 authored and edited books, and numerous journal articles, book chapters, government reports, invited academic lectures and presentations. She has been recognized with many honors and awards, including the YWCA/YMCA Woman of Distinction, the Rh Award for Outstanding Contributions to Interdisciplinary Scholarship and Research, Canada's Top 100 Most Powerful Women, the University of Manitoba Outreach Award, the Faculty of Arts Outstanding Achievement Award, and a distinguished book award from Division 44 of the American Psychological Association for making a significant contribution to lesbian, gay and bisexual psychology.

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

GCRR

Membres

En janvier 2012, le GCRR sera établi et sera composé de membres de l'ensemble du pays qui représenteront un large éventail d'expertise et d'expérience en éthique, en intégrité de la recherche, en administration de la recherche, dans les domaines des sciences de la santé, des sciences sociales, des sciences naturelles et du génie, du droit et de la collectivité. 

Les membres du GCRR sont :

  • Marc Joanisse (Président)
    Professeur
    University of Western Ontario

  • James Ellis
    Scientifique principal, biologie du développement et des cellules souches, Hospital for Sick Children
    Conseiller en intégrité de la recherche, Hospital for Sick Children
    Professeur titulaire, génétique moléculaire, Université de Toronto

  • Faisal Khan
    Professeur
    Chef du département de génie des procédés à la Faculté de génie et de sciences appliquées
    Memorial University

  • Lyne Létourneau
    Professeure
    Université Laval

  • Robert Lipson
    Professeur de chimie
    Doyen des sciences
    University of Victoria

  • E. Ann McDougall
    Professeure
    Département d’histoire et d’études classiques
    University of Alberta

  • Janice Ristock
    Vice-rectrice aux affaires universitaires
    University of Manitoba

  • Membre d'office :
    Susan Zimmerman
    Directrice exécutive
    Secrétariat sur la conduite responsable de la recherche

 

 

Marc Joanisse (Président)
Professeur
University of Western Ontario

M. Joanisse est professeur à l'University of Western Ontario, où il est également directeur adjoint des études supérieures au Département de psychologie. Au sein de cet établissement depuis 2000, il étudie les bases cognitives et cérébrales du langage et de la lecture. Sa recherche porte sur un éventail d’aptitudes, de populations et de techniques, mais il étudie tout particulièrement le trouble de l’acquisition de la lecture chez l’enfant en utilisant des techniques comportementales, l’oculométrie et la neuro-imagerie.

M. Joanisse est titulaire d’un doctorat de l'University of Southern California. Il a été rédacteur en chef adjoint du Journal of Speech Language and Hearing Research.

James Ellis
Scientifique principal, biologie du développement et des cellules souches, Hospital for Sick Children
Conseiller en intégrité de la recherche, Hospital for Sick Children
Professeur titulaire, génétique moléculaire, Université de Toronto

M. Ellis a obtenu son B.Sc. à l’Université McGill et a fait son doctorat à l’Université de Toronto avec le M. Alan Bernstein, mettant au point des vecteurs rétroviraux pour le ciblage génique. Il a consacré des travaux postdoctoraux à l’étude de la région de contrôle du locus de la bêta-globine, sous le mentorat du M. Frank Grosveld à Londres. M. Ellis a constitué sa propre équipe de recherche au Hospital for Sick Children de Toronto en 1994, se penchant plus spécialement sur la thérapie génique pour la drépanocytose. Le laboratoire Ellis a pour but de produire des vecteurs rétroviraux et lentiviraux sûrs et efficaces pour manipuler les cellules souches aux fins de la médecine moléculaire. Les cellules souches répriment l’action de vecteurs viraux en compactant l’ADN dans des structures de chromatine inaccessibles. L’équipe étudie ces mécanismes et conçoit des vecteurs dotés d’isolants qui résistent à la suppression. Elle a mis au point des vecteurs MECP2 pour la thérapie génique du syndrome de Rett, ainsi que des vecteurs comportant des gènes rapporteurs qui repèrent des types de cellules spécifiques. Par exemple, ses vecteurs EOS s’expriment dans des cellules souches pluripotentes et facilitent la production de cellules souches pluripotentes induites (iPS) chez le patient. L’équipe Ellis utilise actuellement ces iPS pour modéliser le syndrome de Rett, d’autres troubles du spectre autistique, la fibrose kystique et le syndrome de Williams-Beuren. Par ailleurs, elle effectue des dépistages de drogues sur les cellules dérivées des iPS des patients afin d’exploiter leur potentiel dans la recherche de médicaments personnalisés. M. Ellis a été nommé conseiller en intégrité de la recherche au Hospital for Sick Children en octobre 2013. En 2015, il a organisé un symposium sur l’intégrité de la recherche, à Toronto.

Faisal Khan
Professeur
Chef du département de génie des procédés à la Faculté de génie et de sciences appliquées  
Université Memorial

Le Pr Faisal Khan est chaire de recherche Vale en sécurité et gestion des risques. Il est aussi chef du département de génie des procédés à la Faculté de génie et de sciences appliquées de l’Université Memorial. Il consacre des recherches à l’ingénierie de la sécurité et de la gestion des risques en milieu extracôtier, à la sécurité inhérente, à la gestion des risques ainsi qu’à l’évaluation et à la gestion de l’intégrité axées sur les risques. Il travaille avec des multinationales du secteur des hydrocarbures à la problématique de la sécurité et de l’intégrité des actifs.

En 2006, il a passé quelques mois comme expert en matière de risques et d’intégrité auprès du Lloyd’s Register, une organisation vouée à la gestion des risques. Il a aussi été conseiller du gouvernement de Terre-Neuve en matière de sécurité et de gestion des risques. Il reste expert en la matière au service de nombreuses organisations, y compris le Lloyd’s Register EMEA, SBM IMODCO, Intecsea, Technip et Qatargas. Entre 2008 et 2010, il a passé du temps à l’Université du Qatar et à la société de GNL Qatargas, chargé de la sécurité des procédés et de la gestion des risques. En 2013-2014, il était professeur invité en génie extracôtier et maritime au Collège maritime d’Australie. À ce titre, il a dirigé la mise sur pied d’un groupe consacré à la sécurité et à la gestion des risques en milieu extracôtier. Il a aussi lancé une initiative de coopération avec de nombreuses institutions internationales. Son travail sur la scène mondiale a mené à la signature par le Collège d’un protocole d’entente avec la NTNU (Norvège), l’ITS (Indonésie), l’UTM (Malaisie) et l’Université de Tokyo.

Il a reçu le prix d’excellence en recherche du recteur en 2012-2013, et le prix national en gestion de la sécurité des procédés de la SCGC en 2014. Il a rédigé plus de 300 articles, publiés dans des revues scientifiques ou présentés à des conférences, au sujet de la sécurité, des risques et de l’ingénierie de la fiabilité. Il a signé cinq livres dans ce domaine. Il est rédacteur du Journal of Process Safety and Environmental Protection, du Journal of Loss Prevention et du Journal of Process Engineering. Il offre souvent des programmes ou ateliers de formation sur l’ingénierie de la sécurité et sur la gestion des risques, que ce soit à St. John’s, à Chennai, à Dubaï, à Pékin, à Aberdeen, à Doha ou à Kuala Lumpur.

Lyne Létourneau
Professeure
Université Laval
Québec, PQ

Lyne Létourneau est professeure titulaire au département des sciences animales de l’Université Laval, où elle enseigne l’éthique de l’agriculture et de l’alimentation ainsi que la conduite responsable de la recherche. Elle détient un doctorat en droit (2000) de l’Université d’Aberdeen en Écosse, de même qu’une maîtrise en droit (1993) et un baccalauréat en droit (1988) de l’Université de Montréal. Combinant cette formation disciplinaire à une expertise en éthique appliquée, ses intérêts de recherche portent sur les structures constitutives du rapport entre l’éthique et le droit dans les domaines de la protection des animaux et des biotechnologies agricoles. En plus de compter à son actif des publications relatives au droit de la protection des animaux, à la gouvernance des biotechnologies agricoles, à l’éthique animale et aux enjeux éthiques soulevés par la modification génétique des animaux et des plantes, elle est l’auteure du livre L’expérimentation animale : l’homme, l’éthique et la loi (1990) et la directrice de l’ouvrage collectif Bio-ingénierie et responsabilité sociale (2006). Lyne Létourneau a été membre du Comité consultatif canadien sur la biotechnologie (CCCB) de 2002 à 2007 et du Comité de travail sur les nanotechnologies en agroalimentaire de la Commission de l’éthique de la science et de la technologie du Québec (CEST) de 2009 à 2011. Elle a également été membre du comité de direction de l’Institut d’éthique appliquée (IDÉA) de l’Université Laval de 2004 à 2012. En 2014, elle a présidé la création d’un nouveau diplôme d’études supérieures spécialisées (DESS) sur l’agriculture, l’alimentation et la société qui sera offert à l’Université Laval à compter de l’automne 2016.

Robert Lipson
Professeur de chimie
Doyen des sciences
University of Victoria

Robert Robert Lipson a obtenu un doctorat en physique de l’University of Toronto en 1985. Il a ensuite fait des travaux postdoctoraux au sein du Groupe de spectroscopie au Conseil national de recherches Canada. Il a été membre du corps professoral du Département de chimie de la University of Western Ontario jusqu’en 2010, et directeur de ce département de 2000 à 2005. Il est actuellement professeur de chimie et doyen des sciences à la University of Victoria. M. Lipson a publié plus de 110 articles dans des revues avec comité de lecture dans les domaines de la spectroscopie laser, des matériaux photoniques et des applications relatives à la lithographie interférentielle et de l’élaboration de techniques d’analyse pour la spectroscopie de masse MALDI.

M. Lipson est membre de l’Institut de chimie du Canada. Il a été membre et président du Comité de sélection des subventions en chimie analytique et physique du CRSNG (de 2004 à 2006) et membre du Comité de sélection des Bourses commémoratives E.W.R. Steacie (de 2008 à 2010). Il a été  directeur scientifique principal de la Revue canadienne de chimie de 2004 à 2012.

E. Ann McDougall
Professeure
Département d’histoire et d’études classiques
Université de l’Alberta

Ann McDougall s’est jointe à l’Université de l’Alberta en 1986, après avoir obtenu un doctorat en histoire de l’Afrique (Université de Birmingham [Royaume-Uni], 1980). Elle a aussi enseigné et effectué des recherches postdoctorales à diverses universités : Dalhousie, Duke, York et Toronto. Participant activement à la vie de sa communauté universitaire, elle a été présidente et responsable des services-conseils aux membres de l’association des universitaires (dans chaque cas pour un mandat de trois ans). Elle a été fondatrice, responsable et directrice du Programme d’études sur le Moyen-Orient et l’Afrique de la Faculté des arts (1996 à 2009). Elle a représenté le conseil universitaire au sein de comités de sélection de directeurs de départements. Elle a été membre de comités des prix des facultés et de l’Université. Elle entame son troisième mandat au comité des bourses de la Faculté des études supérieures et de la recherche.

Sur la scène nationale, elle a été présidente de l’Association canadienne des études africaines (deux fois), et elle a piloté la transformation de sa revue, paraissant depuis 40 ans, en publication en ligne (en tant que rédactrice en chef, en 2009-2010). Elle a aussi été cofondatrice et dirigeante du Conseil canadien des sociétés savantes d’études régionales, soutenu par le CRDI (1998 à 2006). Depuis 20 ans, elle participe aux travaux de trois comités des subventions ordinaires de recherche du CRSH (histoire, études interdisciplinaires).

Dans ses travaux de recherche, elle s’intéresse surtout au nord-ouest de l’Afrique et aux questions du pouvoir et de l’identité telles qu’elles se posent dans les sociétés islamiques sahariennes. Dans la dernière décennie, elle a signé des publications sur l’esclavage en région saharienne à des époques historiques et aujourd’hui, les femmes esclaves et l’esclavage des femmes (en particulier les concubines), et l’histoire des Haratins en Mauritanie (où la plupart se revendiquent esclaves affranchis) et dans le sud du Maroc (où ils sont agriculteurs). Elle a récemment mené à bien un projet, subventionné par le CRSH (2008 à 2012), sur l’histoire et l’identité sociale des Haratins, « The Sahara’s Invisible People: Haratine History and Social Identity ». Un volume est en préparation chez les Éditions Karthala (Paris).

Janice Ristock
Vice-rectrice aux affaires universitaires
University of Manitoba

Janice Ristock est titulaire d’un baccalauréat avec spécialisation de la University of Manitoba, d’une maîtrise en psychologie sociale appliquée de la University of Guelph et d’un doctorat en psychologie communautaire de la University of Toronto. Avant d’occuper le poste de vice-rectrice aux affaires universitaires, elle était vice-rectrice associée à la recherche. Elle avait auparavant occupé pendant quatre ans le poste de doyenne associée à la recherche et au perfectionnement du corps professoral à la Faculté des arts et pendant 12 ans celui de coordonnatrice du Programme d’études féminines et de genre de la Faculté. En plus d’enseigner les études féminines et de genre, Mme Ristock est professeure auxiliaire en anthropologie, en sciences sociales familiales et en études sur les handicaps. Elle est une chercheuse communautaire de renommée internationale. Ses travaux mettent principalement l’accent sur le bien-être et la justice sociale au sein de la collectivité, en particulier dans trois domaines qui se chevauchent – le genre et la sexualité; la violence interpersonnelle; et le VIH-sida et la stigmatisation en découlant. Ils ont bénéficié de l’appui de diverses organisations, notamment le Conseil de recherches en sciences humaines du Canada et les Instituts de recherche en santé du Canada. Leurs résultats ont fait l’objet d’une large diffusion dans des publications avec comité de lecture.

Janice Ristock compte à son actif six ouvrages, à titre d’auteure ou de directrice de la publication, ainsi que de nombreux articles scientifiques, chapitres d’ouvrage et rapports gouvernementaux. Elle a aussi donné nombre d’exposés et de présentations scientifiques à titre d’oratrice invitée. Mme Ristock a reçu un grand nombre de distinctions et de prix, notamment le prix Femme de distinction du YWCA et du YMCA, le Prix Rh pour son apport exceptionnel aux bourses et à la recherche interdisciplinaires, le prix Outreach de la University of Manitoba, le Prix pour contribution exceptionnelle de la Faculté des arts ainsi qu’un prix de la Division 44 de l’American Psychological Association pour un ouvrage exceptionnel apportant une précieuse contribution à la psychologie des lesbiennes, des gais et des bisexuels. Elle a aussi été nommée au palmarès des 100 femmes les plus puissantes du Canada.